Youth & Shelter Services, Inc.

Leadership Team

Andrew Allen, CEO 

Andrew Allen is Chief Executive Officer of YSS, a child welfare agency celebrating 40 years of providing hope and opportunity to children, youth and families through prevention, treatment and transition programs. 

A native Iowan, Allen spent 14 years at Principal where he rose to the position of Director of Community Relations and President of the Principal Foundation, with global responsibilities over charitable giving and corporate citizenship.

Allen credits YSS with providing services that saved his life in 1995, after which he became the charter youth member on the YSS Board of Directors, and later served on the YSS Foundation Board. He has dedicated the past 20 years to serving YSS as a volunteer, advocate and fundraiser, leading two successful YSS capital campaigns and creating Reggie’s Sleepout, an annual fundraiser benefitting Iowa Homeless Youth Centers.

His commitment to the community extends well beyond YSS, including currently serving on boards for Variety – the Children’s Charity, The Partnership for a Drug Free Iowa, The Des Moines Arts Festival and the state’s Juvenile Justice Advisory Council. Allen has previously served on the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice where he advised the president and congress on matters of juvenile justice.

Allen has been recognized with the Fortune 500 HERO Award from Fortune Magazine, was named the Inaugural Young Professional of the Year by Juice Magazine and the Des Moines Register, is part of the Des Moines Business Record’s Forty Under 40, has received the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award from Iowa State University, and was inducted into the Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame by the State of Iowa. 


YSS Administrative Leadership  

Chief Executive Officer – Andrew Allen

Associate Chief Executive Officer –  Roberta Milinsky 

Chief Financial Officer – Tim Carson 

Human Resources Director – Anna Andrews

Quality Improvement and Innovation Director – Belinda Meis

Division Director, Prevention & Treatment – Jason Haglund 

Division Director, Child Welfare & Transitional Services – Terri Johanson 

Community, Youth & Family Development Director – Gerri Bugg 

Marketing & Communications Director – Rhonda Clark 

Development Director – Sarah Mowery 

Information Services Director – Richard Stephenson 

Asset Manager – Renee Davlin 


Leadership of YSS Community-Based Centers   

YSS of Boone County – Tina Palmer 

YSS of Eastern Story County – Laura Bell 

YSS of Hamilton County – Jane Adams 

Iowa Homeless Youth Center – Toby O'Berry 

Francis Lauer Youth Services – Jean McAleer 



© 2017 YSS All Rights Reserved